Tanzania Visa & Entry Requirements


Most visitors to Tanzania require visas whether visiting for a holiday or to conduct business.

Some nationalities are permitted to enter Tanzania visa free for a period of up to three months, mainly from African and Asian countries.

Visas can be obtained on arrival at Dar es Salaam International Airport, Kilimanjaro International Airport, Zanzibar International Airport and the border posts of Namanga, Tunduma, Taveta and Holili. But it is advisable to apply for a visa from the nearest Tanzanian Embassy or Consulate before travelling to Tanzania. Some airlines will not allow passengers to embark on a flight to Tanzania without a valid visa. Visitors may also risk being turned away when trying to apply for a visa on arrival in Tanzania.

Some travel agents may be able to assist in the application process for a visa. Visit Global Visas for a free visa assessment in order to make the visa process simple.

Tourist Visas

Tourist visas may be issued as single or multiple entry permits and are valid for a maximum period of three to six months respectively. An application for the maximum period of visas may not necessarily reflect the grant that will be issued.

  • Photocopy of round trip, airline tickets or itinerary
  • Photocopy of bank statement showing sufficient funds for the trip
Business Visas

Business visas are also issued for either a single entry or multiple entries and are granted a maximum duration of three to six months. This visa does not constitute a work permit or employment visa and does not entitle the holder to work in Tanzania. Business visas are a temprorary immigration solution to allow visitors to engage in business related activities.

  • A letter on a company letterhead addressed to the Tanzania Embassy or Consulate, Visa Section where the application is being made. The letter is to be signed by the company executive, stating the nature of the business duration of the trip, companies to be visited and guaranteeing sufficient funds.

All visa applications must be accompanied by a valid passport from the applicant's country of origin. For candidates who are living in a country which is not their country of origin, proof of residence must be supplied. Passports must be valid for a minimum of six months after the duration of the visa.

All foreign nationals travelling to Tanzania should be aware that it may be necessary to attend an interview and that supporting documentation may be required.

Processing Times and Fees

Visa fees and processing times are subject to change at short notice and both fees and processing times may very according to the type of visa you require and your nationality.

Visa Application

Applicants for the entry visa to Tanzania must meet all the necessary requirements. These include the submission of the following:

  • Filled in Visa Application Form
  • Valid passport
  • Two passport sized photographs
  • Supporting travel documentation depending on whether it is for a Tourist or Business Visa
  • Proof of residency (if applying from a country that is not country of origin)

Nationals of any country not listed or described below please consult your nearest Tanzania Embassy or Consulate for further information.

The countries whose nationals require a visa for Tanzania are:
Afghanistan Comoros Guinea-Bissau Moldova Suriname
Albania Congo Guyana Monaco Sweden
Algeria Congo (Democratic Republic of) Haiti Mongolia Switzerland
Angola Costa Rica Holland Morocco Syria
Argentina Cote D'Ivoire Holy See Myanmar Taiwan
Armenia Croatia Honduras Nepal Tajikistan
Austria Cuba Hungary Netherlands Thailand
Azerbaijan Czech Republic Iceland Niger Togo
Bahrain Denmark Independent State of Samoa; Norway Tunisia
Belarus Djibouti India Oman Turkey
Belgium Dominican Republic Israel Panama Turkmenistan
Benin Ecuador Italy Papua New Guinea Ukraine
Bhutan Egypt Japan Paraguay United Arab Emirates
Bolivia El-Salvador Jordan Peru United Kingdom
Bosnia Equatorial Guinea Kazakhstan Philippines United States of America
Brazil Equatorial Guinea Korea (North & South) Poland Uruguay
Bulgaria Eritrea Kuwait Republic of Ireland Uzbekistan
Burkina Faso Estonia Kurdistan Portugal Venezuela
Burma Fiji Laos Qatar Vietnam
Burundi Finland Latvia Romania Yemen
Cambodia France Liberia Russia Yugoslavia (all travelling documents issued by former SFR of Yugoslavia or by present Yugoslav Authorities)
Canada Gabon Libya Sao Tome & Principe  
Cape Verde Georgia Luxembourg Saudi Arabia  
Central African Republic Germany Macedonia Senegal  
Chad Gibraltar Malagasy Slovak Republic  
Chile Greece Maldives Slovenia  
China (Peoples Republic of ) Guatemala Mauritania South Africa  
Colombia Guinea Mexico Spain  
Citizens of the following Nations require referred Visas for Entry to Tanzania
Abkhazia (Republic inside Georgia) Eriterea Republic Mauritania Republic SirLanka Republic Turkmanistan
Afghanistan Republic Ethiopia Morocco Somali Uzbekistan
Bangladesh Republic Kazakhstan Republic Niger Republic Somali Land Wakimbizi (REFUGEES)
Chad Repubic Kyrgyzsten Republic Palestine State Stateless Persons  
Djibout Republic Djibout Republic Lebanon Republic Senegal Republic  
Equatorial Guinea Mali Republic Sierraleone Republic Tajikstan  
Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa for stay up to 90 days:
Botswana Hong Kong Malawi Republic Namibia Republic Uganda Republic
Gambia Kenya Republic Malaysia Federal State Rwanda Republic Zambia Republic
Ghana Republic Lesotho Kingdom Mozambique Republic Swaziland Kingdom Zimbabwe Republic